The following series of web page images shows the iResetMe password reset using your web browser. After installing the iResetMe, some additional installation and configuration work is necessary. Once that has happened, a signon page is presented in the browser asking for the user profile to be reset. If the user profile needs to have its password reset, then the following panel is shown:
When this user was originally enrolled to use iResetMe, they were taken through a browser series to choose personal questions and then record their answers to those questions. When their profile needs to be reset or if they have forgotten their password, the above display asks them to repeat their responses exactly the way they were originally recorded.
If all of the responses are entered correctly, then the following options for reset are offered:
If the user chooses to change their password, then the following is shown in their browser session:
In the above panel, the optional password double verification feature is active as is the optional display of the password rules that must be followed for your system. The password presented must meet all current system requirements for a new password. If the password provided is accepted, the user profile is reset and re-enabled if needed and is once again usable by the end user. The user then receives a confirmation panel in their browser:
If they registered with an email address, an email is automatically sent to them to confirm that their user profile has been reset and a new password supplied.
This allows them to know if their account has been compromised as well.
All of this is completed without intervention by the help desk or computer room staff.
All activity in iResetMe is recorded in an activity log. Security staff for your IBM i installation can review the log for activity and suspicious activity at any time.